top of page

TRIBUTE TO MY MOM


Her name is Debra Denise Newbolt, but to others her name is Debbie, Deb, sweetheart, sugar lumps, yummy, but we as her children know her as momma, mommy or ma.


I thought our dad knew a lot of people, but my mom knew many folks as well. The amount of people who have reached out to myself and my siblings has been overwhelming. Everyone who I have come in contact with has just said how great my mom is, how they would just laugh together. Her laugh brings attention to a room like no other, and the biggest thing they have said is how beautiful she is. My mom not only had ageless beauty on the outside, but her beauty on the inside couldn't be matched. I realize now more than ever her beauty was bigger than the universe. I think that is one of the reasons why she was born a beautician. She wanted the beauty she saw IN others to match on THEIR outside. She loved many different hair designs and loved doing her nails for sure, and the woman had many many many many many clothes and TONS of style


These last couple of years I have been intentionally sitting down with my family and having them tell me their stories. My siblings and I sat down together with our mom and recorded an episode of my podcast about one of my favorite movies; The Wiz. When asked who was her favorite character she said, "The scarecrow is my favorite character because He sings that song and I always felt like life said to me “you can’t win”, but I came back and said you can’t win. No matter what you throw at me I am still going to win'.


Mommy was the type of person who did not want to hold anyone back and she didn’t want to be held back with any limitations on herself. My mom would tell us not to worry about her, even all the way up to when she got really sick.I know now she’s at ultimate peace and happiness and not having to worry about us at all anymore. Connisha and Darion: She loved us as her kids very much and she loved her grandsons. She trusted us and now I know she trusts you all here in the crowd to look out for us and love and protect us as she did. More importantly we have our dad and our bonus mom Kim. Dad, mommy always has said regardless what has happened between me and your dad, know this. Your dad is a great father to you kids, and we did a good job together as parents. My mom was also appreciative that my dad remarried a great woman like Kim. Kim, she was surprised by the relationship you two had forged, but she was so grateful to have you in our lives.


A mothers love never goes away from her children and a child's love for their parent is always there. Mommy, even though we know you are always going to be with us in here in hearts. Still a piece of it is missing. We love you mommy, I love you mommy. We are going to have to adjust to this new normal without you here, because it just wont be the same without you. I know you’re probably booked out the door at Blessings Beauty Salon in the sky, but save me a spot in your chair when I make it up there.





Mom's Official Obituary


Debra Denise Newbolt, 53, of Jeffersonville, Indiana, made her transition to Heaven on Sunday, March 20, 2022, at Baptist Floyd Hospital.


She was born on November 30, 1968, in Indianapolis, Indiana. She is preceded in death by her biological mother, Charlene Patton Grimm; adoptive mother, Mary Alice Bonds; and sister, Lanita Douglas.


In the fall of 1989, Debra joined James Victor Newbolt in marriage and was blessed with a 7 year old daughter. This union also produced two beautiful baby boys whom she adored greatly. Debra was a loving member of Church On The Rock in New Albany, Indiana since 1993 under the founding Pastors, Dr. Michael P. Jacobs and Pastor Diana Jacobs and most recently the Lead Pastor, Pastor Jordan Jacobs. Debra had a passion for Cosmetology and Fashion from a very young age and it was woven into every fiber of her being. There wasn’t a time that you did not find her beautifying a client.


Debra is survived by her father, Robert Bonds, loving children, Connisha Newbolt-Jarrett, Davon Newbolt, Darion Newbolt (Naala Johnson) and her grandchildren, Braxton and Peyton Jarrett; a bonus daughter, Shenise Harbin, Father and Mother in Love, James “Jimmy” Lawrence and Wilma Ellis, sisters, Kathy Jones (Michael), Dorcia Polk, Diana Anderson (Roy), Donna Spencer (Keith), Sharon Flowers, Glenda White (Jerry), Deneen Malone (Johnny), Tonya Simpson, Lawanna Westmoreland, Yolanda Webb (Clarence); brothers, Thomas Stone (Martha) and Delbert Douglas. Debra cherished Ms. Delores Garing who became a special mother figure. She also leaves behind a host of aunts, uncles, nieces and nephews and lastly, her long time friends, Marion Haigler, Crystal Marks and Kelly Smith-Hall.






175 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page