top of page

The Seasons of Friendship

Updated: Jul 24, 2023



With 2021 being a new year and a reset to the funny game called Jumanji, it had me reflecting. Actually for a couple years now that is all I have been doing. REFLECTING. After years of discovery, I have figured more and more of who I am. I am not the same individual I was a couple of years ago. HECK yesterday I am sure something different about me has changed. The fact of the matter is that as you grow in life in the realationships that come to you in life are always changing. For me personally that resonates more than anyone will ever know. At this time in my life I truly value and treasure those I have a friendship and relationship with. Those that bring me joy, add more to my being, love me though it all, encourage me, and those who are just present. The Bible says "iron sharpens iron" Thats what significant others, family, and friends are for.



I recently did myself a favor and went through my personal contacts and social media, and purged all those who dishearten me and take away from my peace. Those who I don't interact with, and those who aren't present in my life. What is the reason to keep those around or on your sleeve, if the thought of them it brings you sadness. I had to do what was best for my life and I have to protect my peace. Who I do life with matters, and it should matter. I want to have people in my life that lift and keep me up, move me further along, and people who enrich and promote my health in all areas.



I thank God for those who are truly in my life. TRULY. It surprises me, the ones who considers you a friend but never take the time to at least say "Hello, how are you doing?" If you don't even do that, then why would an individual consider you that way. It so important for those in your circle to be close and in contact with one another, especially in these times.


I know the ones that were there and those that weren't, but I don't worry myself with those who are absent. I comsume and honor those who are presently here. I can think of times in my life especially recently with covid, the racial injustice, and even the milestones that have happened with this website, the podcast, moving out on my own, buying my first house, and many more... Literally, there were those that were there checking in on me and cheering me on, and those that I assumed I would hear from. Sadly that list is small of those I have heard from. What is most important that we remember that it is not the quantity of relationships that we have but the quality.


QUALITY is what matters most! I have been in situations where I was in a room full of people but still felt alone and that nothing around me was genuine. Its upsetting to know there are those out there who only have anything to do with you unless you doing something that benefits them. That is not a true relationship with friend, family member , or significant other. More than ever in this time when we need one another.


Just like the title says, "The Seasons of Friendship", seasons come and go and with seasons as they change there are remnants of what the season brought to us. What we can do is either clean up anything left behind we consider bad or leave those things to what we think will enrich the earth.



-D

Check out our "ABOUT THE WRITERS" page for content about this writer and more!

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page