top of page

What's the World Coming To? And What Should We Do? Even In My Running Shoes



PLEASE BE ADVISED THE POST BELOW: You many not agree with all my points but please know this all comes from a place of love and not judgement. These are just my thoughts on recent events and I had to write them down. I don't proclaim to know everything, BUT I do know my own experiences, and I am always open to understanding more from the other perspectives.



As a young black man in America it's not the easiest to live life. It's pretty sad when the description of me from society is just black male. They don't see the one loves Jesus Christ for who he is and what he stands for, they don't see the college educate man, the hard worker, they don't see the loving and accepting individual, they don't see the son, grandson, brother, uncle, friend, or just human being. A lot of what society sees is just black. It's crazy to me that when you walk into a room there is immediate thoughts and judgement of a narrative that is not even who you are. We all do it, even myself .


Along with the pandemic the tragic story Ahmaud Arbery came into the forefront. If you haven't heard it or seen it, here is the long story made short. 25 year old Ahmaud, was on a jog near his home and some men took upon themselves to be the police that day. They believed Ahmaud fit the description of someone who was the cause of a break-in around the area. As Ahmaud jogged past them they got in their truck to confront him, and in the end of it all, they shot him. Ahmaud died that day. There was a lack of action at first for justice, but now the ball has started to roll. Since the initial incident in late February the men involved in the killing including the one who filmed the incident have all be arrested and are awaiting their day in court.



The horrible incident caught the hearts of many, even myself. Hence why I writing this now. Many things have happened in my world similar to this but it has been hard to digest it all and put my thoughts in order.Mr. Arbery would have turned 26 on May 8. The hashtag #IRunWithMaud was shared thousands of times across social media, as supporters documented 2.23-mile runs and walks, to commemorate the date of Mr. Arbery’s killing. Many of my friends and people I look up to spoke out about the injustice, but one that caught my attention was from a friend. I had grown frustrated in the past with friends on matters like this, but Morgan used her platform to give us her words that pulled on my heartstrings.



This gives me hope that her and others similar to her are finally seeing what I face frequently, and want to do their part and what ever capacity they can. Being an ally to all things that are happening around is much better than being a bystander.

I pray everyday for my safety as I go about my day. Now as the bible says "God has not given me a spirit of fear..." but it is kinda scary when you walk out into the world I see today. I know I just have to stand my ground and live my life. These incidents don't make me weak. They only make me stronger and encouraged even more to walk hand in hand with people to fight these injustices that we are faced with everyday. It sad when we have to have "The talk" to our friends and loved ones on the realities on how we are seen by some and how we always carry ourselves because of the likelihood of the darkness that is out there.


Between the police brutality, the excessive violence towards people of color, the cover-ups. We need to stop acting like this isn't going on around us and wake up and realize BLACK LIVES DO MATTER. It took me some time sadly to understand myself what that slogan means to me but now I do. Yes all lives matter but we a giving light to something that is trying to be covered up in the darkness as if there isn't a serious problem going on. Its time for us to rise up and bridge the gap. All those before us worked hard but we still have much work that still needs to be done especially if what I seen is history is still repeating itself up to today.


-Davon

Check out our "ABOUT THE WRITERS" page for content about this writer and more!

23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page